RSS Feed

The Tao of Poo…

Posted on

Before my son, I never thought much about how my body functions.  I just lived my life, like most people.  I worked, I went to movies, read books, shopped, travelled on occasion.  Now I think about things like poop.

Admit it, if you’re a parent, then you have spent your fair share of time on the poop issue too.  It’s unavoidable.  With a newborn, you find out immediately that monitoring the color, volume, and frequency of poo is very important, and information the doctor will ask you about.  But who knew it would continue to be a hot topic long past the infant and toddler phase?

As with many children with special needs, our son was difficult to potty train.  He was almost four when we finally got him out of daytime pull-ups.  Once we made that transition, we soon noticed that something was amiss.  There was no poo.  Our son was avoiding this unpleasant activity by purposely “holding” it in.  He said he was afraid to go on the potty because it would hurt.  That makes sense, because when you hold it too long it becomes difficult to pass.

I never could have imagined the wide variety of toileting products on the market.  I actually managed to find a book called, “It Hurts When I Poop.”  So, he sat on the throne, and I read the poo book, to no avail.  He would usually tell me, “Mommy, I don’t want to have a rock-hard dinosaur poop.”  Ugh, a special thanks to the cartoon, Dinosaur Train, for throwing that monkey wrench into the process.  We got to the point where he went five days before I finally resorted to the dreaded suppository.  When the mudslide began, a fair amount of blood came with it.  I kept my composure while inside I was panicking.  Off to the after-hours care we went.

The doctor said it was probably just a blood vessel, and told me to start giving him Miralax in juice every day to help with regularity.  We have used it ever since, and no more “rock-hard dinosaur poop.”  We still notice that 2-3 days go by between “visits” to the potty for that particular visitor, but at least it’s better.  He knows it won’t hurt now because mommy puts special medicine in his juice to make it soft.

Now you might think I’m crazy, but I definitely still notice a correlation between behavior and my son’s poo schedule.  There are some days where he is just cranky, difficult, and belligerent.  And sure enough, it’s usually when it’s been a couple of days.  After he goes potty, the behavior seems to be much better.  The doctor doesn’t necessarily agree wholeheartedly with my poo/behavior theory, but I swear to you it’s true.  Imagine being backed up for a few days, how uncomfortable and irritable you’d feel!

Although things are easier these days than they have been in the past, I am really looking forward to the day when I don’t have to monitor poo on a regular basis.  That day will come, won’t it??

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

One response »

  1. I have noticed the same thing with my daughter. If she has gone a couple of days or is constipated when she goes she usually has had a very rough day or two. How weird. I think the doctors should listen to us more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

