RSS Feed

Just Breathe…

Connor and his big stick.

 

The first week of school took more of a toll on all of us than I would have guessed.  With Connor attending pre-K and childcare in the past, I guess I wasn’t expecting this to be a difficult transition.  I don’t know what I was thinking…my child has ADHD and Asperger’s, and almost all transitions are challenging.  This past weekend gave us some good downtime, and I decided to find a fun activity for all of us. 

No, Texas is not my favorite place in the whole world, but Austin does have some pretty areas, and a plethora of creeks and lakes.  Since Connor has never been to the ocean, or a natural body of water, I thought some creek exploration was just the thing.  A few minutes on google, and we were soon on our way to Bull Creek. 

During the drive, we discussed logistics:  what is a creek, how deep is a creek, how far away is the creek, are there sharks in the creek, etc, etc.  As we wound around the road, Connor grew more and more excited, asking “Are we to the creek now?” 

I could not have ordered up a more relaxing and fun adventure for our little family.  We parked the car and got out, and I explained that we had to hold hands near the cars and road, but I would let go once we got over to the creek.  He followed my directions beautifully. 

The three of us waded around, watched small fish scurry by, and enjoyed the scenery.  My boy found rocks to throw in the water, and a huge walking stick.  We explored and looked and laughed.  We even hiked up a small trail for a while and back down.  There were no behavior problems, issues, challenges, nada. 

This was my boy.  My sweet boy that loves to roam around and toss rocks and make noise and ask a million questions about all that he sees.  Maybe someday he will be a park ranger or a trail guide.  My boy just doesn’t do as well with being inside the box of a classroom, with rules and assignments, and competing voices and hands.  He’s like a fish out of water. 

I feel recharged after this family time.  We all piled into the car with our wet shoes and feet and headed home for dinner.  We even brought the big walking stick, so Connor could keep it.  My fear and dread has receded a little, and I think we’re all going to make it.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

Leave a Reply

