RSS Feed

Milestones

After all the changes, and the meeting, and changing my work times, things have been sailing along much more smoothly at Connor’s after school program.  He has a new counselor that worked with him at their summer camp, and she is really great with him.  The past two weeks have been rather pleasant (I’m almost sorry I just put that in writing).

On Friday when I picked up Connor, his counselor asked me if I would always be picking him up that early.  She said she’d like him to stay later, since he’s been doing so well.  She’d like to see how he does when he’s there for more than an hour.  WHAT??!!  That is a first!  Never in his five years has someone asked for him to stay longer.  I was just so flabbergasted, I didn’t know what to say.  Then I remembered that they have an early release day coming up this week, and a teacher day off in October.

I reminded her of those, and we decided to see how things go on those days.  Let’s not get all crazy and start thinking he can just hang out for hours on end, being good, for heaven’s sake!

Things have also gone well in his kindergarten class, with only two days of naughty reports.  Two days out of four weeks is not too shabby.  I’ll take it!

I can honestly say, my heart swells with pride.  Maybe he is finally maturing and understanding how to conduct himself.  He even went to his counselor to ask for help with a conflict, rather than hitting or pushing.  He got a trip to the treasure box for that.

Here’s crossing my fingers and hoping things continue this way.  All our hard work is paying off, painfully slowly, but still getting there.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

2 responses »

  1. That is wonderful news! Yay, Connor!!! So happy you are getting the help you need…got advice on how to make our school work for our son???

    ((big hugs))

    Reply
    • Thanks! Sorry, no BIG ideas for you. Connor receives services under IDEA 2004, which provides an IEP and specified services and supports. My biggest piece of advice, and biggest personal hurdle, is to network and get to know as many administrators as possible. You have to kill them with kindness, otherwise they can, and know how to, make yours and your kid’s life a real challenge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

