RSS Feed
Posted on

Yesterday Drew began working with Connor on his tone of speech.  We are supposed to ignore Connor when he yells or whines, and respond to him when he uses an appropriate voice.  This is much harder than one would think, because I never realized that he whines SO MUCH.

And then I started thinking, “do I whine?”  I decided I would make a conscious effort to speak in a tone that is devoid of emotion hence, no whining, no sarcasm, no ironic observations.  This is killing me, and I find that if I’m not busy pointing out life’s little absurdities, tinged with a soft hue of sarcasm, then I have very little to say.

Now when I speak, I sound like a robot.

I’m dating myself, but I keep thinking back to that robot from the old TV show, Lost in Space.

Instead of the robot voice saying “Danger Will Robinson,” imagine it saying, “Good morning, what would you like for breakfast?”  Or, “Wow, that is an interesting purple velvet pantsuit you have chosen for your attire today” (said to a coworker with an interesting flair for fashion).

It’s just weird.  But since we want Connor to learn what “appropriate” speech sounds like, I guess I should actually model that kind of speech.  If Connor would just learn to be sarcastic and witty, instead of whiney, this would not be a problem.  The sacrifices we make as mothers……

During one of the “trials” yesterday, Connor ended up so mad that he was lying on the floor, crying and yelling, because he was being ignored.  If I have to keep this up much longer, I think I will join him on the floor.

Lost in Space

Let's use a grownup voice.

2 responses »

  1. I agree that we do need to set the example, for many things. Including how we speak. Which is definitely easier said than done! I too would find this very hard to do with my speaking. Keep up the good work Cindy!

    By the way… Did you really say that to your co-worker. Because I laughed reading it and I’m wondering how you could have kept a straight voice AND a straight face. 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, I did. I had to test myself. For my son. So you see, it wasn’t just mockery, it was a test of strength, and I passed. I was so convincing that she even told me where, I too, can acquire such an outfit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

