RSS Feed

Sickness and Snowdays and Bear Prints, Oh My

Posted on

So this has been a crazy week.  The boy has been sick with some horrendous cold/virus all week, which means he slept a lot more than usual.  Of course I did the nurturing/motherly/caretaker thing, but when, at 10am, he would say “I’m not feeling well, I’m going to lay down,” I would secretly, in my head, be going “WHOO-HOO, PAAAAR-TAY, SHA-FREAKIN-ZAM!!”

And we had a freezing windstorm that knocked out our power for THREE HOURS on Wednesday.  Sick boy was not happy about this.  “Stupid electricity!  STUPID STUPID ELECTRICITY!!!  I’m going to tell the storm that it’s STUPID for making the electricity go off, and making me not watch DORA AND DIEGO!”

Word.

And THEN, we had a snow day on Friday.  We woke up to between 2 and 3 inches of snow, which was nice to look at.  Sick boy was too sick to go out and play in the snow, so I brought him a snowball to touch. He said, “cool,” and put it in the dog’s water bowl.

Feet the size of beach balls....

But we live in central Texas, and snow doesn’t stay long.  The sun comes out, the snow melts, and then we have cold, slushy mud.  I spent the morning swiffering the floors, and left the room for a minute. I came back out, and there were huge, muddy bear prints through the house, leading from the sliding glass door, through the kitchen and living room, down the hallway. 

“OH MY GAWWWWD!!!”

In the mere seconds I was out of the room, sick boy had let our golden retriever in, without cleaning his feet.  Golden retriever had been out, tromping through the snow/mud/slush.  Apparently sick boy disappeared as soon as muddy, bear dog charged in.

So I cleaned the bear paws, and I got the swiffer back out, and  I cursed the fucking snow.

So then I sit down to start some preliminary work on this year’s bloodbath taxes, and I hear our other dog, the dingo, pawing at the door.  And here’s what that little mothereffer left me:

Muddy Effing Dingo Dog

 

So now I’m rummaging through the pantry, looking for chocolate chips because, damn it, the only thing to salvage this day is some nice, warm chocolate chip cookies!

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

One response »

  1. Well…at least you still have your furkids and normally they bring more pleasure than not, I’m guessing. But the chocolate chip cookies are just win-win all around. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

