RSS Feed

My Happy Place is a Gas Station Car Wash

Posted on

Saturday was the first day that sick boy felt better, and started acting like himself, meaning he was rambunctious, lippy, and super-active.  He was up most of Saturday night too, and probably only slept 4-5 hours.

So it was a surprise that, on Sunday, he was calm, focused, and well-behaved.  It’s a good thing too, because now hubby is sick and was in bed all weekend.  Late in the afternoon I announced that I was going to the gas station to fill up, and get a car wash.

“Can I come with you, Mommy?”  Little man had decided it was a dandy day to wear his superman costume, but I decided it wasn’t any worse than the occasional Texas attire that I see, which consists of John Deere shirt, cowboy hat, cowboy boots, and way-too-tight Wranglers.  He straightened his cape, grabbed Cowboy Woody (of course he did, it’s fucking Texas isn’t it?) and off we went.

Once the car was filled up, we went inside the store so I could get 44-ounces of liquid crack, and I let Superman pick out one candy item.  As always, he chose the mini M&Ms in the little tube, that sound like candy-coated maracas when you shake it. 

Back in the car, and driving into the car wash.  “Mommy, would you like a candy?”  I had to look back over my shoulder to make sure I had the right boy in the backseat, and complimented him on his sharing skills.  He actually gave me 6 M&Ms, which was pretty generous.

And then we sat in the car wash in complete silence, eating our M&Ms….me and Superman, and Cowboy Woody.  Maybe I have a smidgen of Asperger’s too, because I’ve always found the car wash to be an oddly soothing place.  Or maybe the boy picked up that trait from me.  Either way, it was the most peaceful, tranquil, relaxing 3 minutes of the last week. 

Maybe I’ve stumbled upon a new kind of therapy….

Not my car, but even just looking at the picture makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

6 responses »

  1. Love this entry. It made me smile. It also made me want to go sit in a car wash to relax for a couple minutes. Glad you had this nice, simple moment together. Those are the best kinds! Next time spring for the ultra deluxe wash and get 5 minutes. 🙂 Love ya!

    Reply
  2. I can’t believe that he shared his M&M’s with you. Lucky! That is quite the sweet scene you painted. I haven’t been in one of those drive-thru car washes in years…sounds therapeutic.

    Reply
  3. I am not sure if I find the car wash relaxing or not, I mean it’s nice to sit there and rest for a few minutes but ver here the cleaning brushes are very noisy and imposing when they launch themselves on the windscreen. Still if it relaxed your boy, then I applaud the car wash and the m z& m’s of course! I can jy imagine, with a smile on my face, the two of you sat there eating your chocolates in peace! Lovely story.
    I pooped over from Blog Gems 🙂

    Reply
  4. I love car washes too..sometimes I will take them through more than once..a carwash and SIX M&M’s..priceless..:) Over from blog gems…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

