RSS Feed

Caution: Bad Day, Nasty Rant Ahead

 

I don’t have any witty tales or snarky stories today.  Sorry.  And there are very bad words ahead.

Today just really sucked.

Fuck you autism, and fuck your friend, ADHD.  I’m sick and goddamn tired of you two ass-clowns turning my sweet little boy into an aggressive little monster and turning homework time into a battlefield.  You’re holding our family hostage and sucking the joy out of our very existence.

And while I’m at it, a big FUCK YOU to Smokey Robinson and his “Tracks of My Tears.”  Why?  Because I fucking want to.  What does Smokey know about tears anyway?  Has he ever had his only child completely unravel emotionally because he was born with a disorder that came on like a freight train?  Maybe he has.  I don’t really know.  Whatever.  Screw him and his stupid sad-ass song anyway.  When Smokey dreads driving home from work every day because he doesn’t know what he’ll be walking into, then I’ll apologize.  And then he can sing about sad clown tears until the cows come home.

Look. He's not even crying.

Aside from Smokey, this is one of those days I want to bust out of this prison of ABA therapy and behavior extinction.  But I can’t.  No, wait, I could if I chose to. But I’m in this for the long haul.

You’ll have to excuse me, but, like Bobby Brown,  it’s my prerogative to lose my mind on occasion.  Yeah, you know, I pretty much warned you right up front, right there in the title.

I’m taking my tired ass and throbbing head and ringing ears to bed now, so I can get up and do it all again tomorrow.  Hopefully I’ll have something more witty, and less self-pitying to say tomorrow.  And I’ll try not to insult any more Motown legends.

So move along now, there’s nothing more to see here.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

9 responses »

  1. Sometimes it’s a ‘Fuck You’ day….enjoy it and use as neccesary.

    Reply
  2. I’m sorry, but is it bad that I laughed out loud when I read the paragraph that began “Fuck you, autism…” and then read it to my husband, who also laughed out loud?? That paragraph just so sums up our existence with homework that I’m printing it out and putting it on my bulletin board. EVERY DAY it seems we have a lovely day, lovely evening, lovely everything until homework starts, and then it all goes straight to hell. Ugh. I so get this.

    Reply
    • No, I’m glad you found something in it to laugh about. It’s flattering that it’s on your bulletin board. I just hope your kids don’t know how to read yet! It’s also good to know we’re not alone. There are lots of parents out there going through the same thing. It just seems so lonely when it’s happening to you, in your house.

      Reply
  3. Hi there–I hope today is better for you. Ass-clowns–that’s good, which is funny cause someone just used the word ass-hat today and I’ve not heard either pharse used in ages… Seriously, I do hope they’ve left the building and today is better–L

    Reply
  4. It sucks that you have to have this kind of day(s). But… It is SO okay to go on a rant about it. I really enjoy reading your blog, and getting the everyday look at what you deal with. Thank you for sharing it. While I truly love my nephew (and my own daughters); I am also a firm believer that there are some days, where parenting is highly over-rated.

    Reply
  5. Oh, I do love a good rant. Especially when I can tell that the woman doing the ranting is going to turn around and make it work. Make it all work. Sigh.

    I do love a good rant.

    Thank you.

    Reply
  6. Wow, you just ranted for all of us! I feel better now! Sending big hugs and a thank you for putting into words what I’ve been afraid to say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

