RSS Feed

The Word of the Day

Posted on

There’s nothing funnier than when a little kid acquires a new vocabulary word, and begins using it in odd and inappropriate, ways.  The new word around the house currently, is ACTUALLY.  Sometimes it’s the shortened form of the word, actual.  Either way, it has become an entertaining word.

Examples of this new, exciting experiment are as follows:

“Is this my actual dinner?”

“Is there actually school today?”

“Mommy, is it time for my actual bath?”

“Where is my actual backpack?”

My husband, being the helper that he is, tries to model more appropriate sentences that feature the newly acquired adverb:

“Are you actually leaving the house in those sweatpants?”

“Did you actually get everything on the grocery list this time?”

“Are you actually going to get up when the alarm goes off, or just hit snooze five times?”

“You don’t actually think I’m going to eat oatmeal, do you?  I need cocoa pebbles.”

Actually, maybe I should keep Connor away from daddy, so he doesn’t learn to actually call me out on shit appropriately.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

6 responses »

  1. Having just read that, I’m actually confused as to the actual use of the word actually.

    Reply
  2. Bwaaah! At our house, the phrase is “did you know?” I actually taught him that one…sorry I couldn’t help myself. I know we’re not actually helping….sorry, did it again…;)

    Reply
  3. Funny. My boy recently went through an “actually’ phase as well. Now he has moved onto “absolutely”.

    Reply
  4. Oh my gosh, so funny. Love that you chronicle things like this because this is the type of little stuff that we will forget years from now.

    Reply
  5. Actually I think this is actually hilarious, actually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

