RSS Feed

Mea Culpa

Posted on

I have a confession to make, but I’m really, really embarrassed about it.

Here goes.

I forgot to pick up the blue lightbulbs at Home Depot.

I know.  Pathetic and shameful.  A hypocrite!

The nerve of her!

I even gave Jillsmo, over at Yeah.  Good Times. a mildly hard time about her anti-LightItUpBlue post.  She’s probably sharpening her claws right this second.

Go ahead, BRING IT.  I’ve got it coming.

So, I’m sorry.  I’m hanging my head in shame.  For reals.

But…instead of buying and putting in blue lightbulbs, I did something else.

I took my autistic son to his school carnival…during the evening hours, which is typically the hardest part of the day.

 And he behaved like an angel.  The vice principal and his teacher were there, and they got to see that he can behave just fine around other kids, with support.

 That was how I spread awareness last night, instead of turning on a blue porch light.  And I don’t know if anyone there became any more aware of autism because we attended, but I do know that I wouldn’t have missed this joyous moment for anything.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

5 responses »

  1. The fact that he has on a Superman shirt did not get past me.
    The bubbles just make Connor cuter!

    Reply
  2. Awesome!

    Btw, I’m telling jillsmo.

    Reply
  3. How cute!! And that looks like so much fun!!

    Reply
  4. Hey there! Award for the kiddy at my blog. Come pick it up!

    Reply
  5. The bubbles are blue, his clothing is blue, you all breathe Planet Spectrum air all day. You paid your Blue Dues. There should be no “ought” in Autism. So there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

