RSS Feed

Meet the Neighbors

Posted on

When I started blogging, lo those many weeks ago, I thought, like many a new blogger, that I would just write some things and post them out there in blogging space.  My mistake was in not realising there’s an entire community of bloggers out there, networked and working collaboratively.  Whatever your topic may be, there are others out  there, and sooner or later you will stumble upon them.

I blog in the autism/parenting/humor/special needs/random crazy thoughts genre.  There are many others, tirelessly writing about how autism affects their lives.  They are spreading autism awareness all year long.  Since this is autism awareness month, I thought it would be nice to highlight them, and profile the “neighbors.”

I don’t know any of them on a personal level.  I read their blogs and tweets and, as we are prone to do, have encapsulated them in my mind and assigned them personalities, according to what I’ve read.  As a result, the following information may be a dead-on description, or it may be a purely fictional impression, created in my own imagination

Meet a few of your autism blogging neighbors:

Autism Army Mom, AKA Lynn.  I started with her because, frankly, she scares me a little.  She’s been doing this a long time, and she means business.  She blogs with a great family style of humor, so no one is ever offended.  Mostly.  She is uber-dedicated to finding services and supports for her adorable daughter.  I suspect she runs a tight ship, and her house is never in disarray.  Also, the pictures of her make me think she has a ton of nervous energy, and is always pushing her hair back, behind her ears, from a nervous habit.  Don’t mess with her though, because I have a strong suspicion she’s like Carmela Soprano.  Her hands don’t get dirty, but the trash gets taken out.   But you didn’t hear that from me.

.

Big Daddy Autism (BDA) also lives on the block.  He’s like an enigma, wrapped in a mystery,  wrapped in salami.  He is also a super savvy business mogul, wheeling and dealing behind the scenes (kind of like Charlie Sheen, but bigger, and with less hair).  He’s found himself a nice little niche.  There are very few dad autism bloggers, and none that are also cartoonists.  This is a great way to work your way into a book deal.  It doesn’t hurt that he’s like a sheik, with a harem of mommy bloggers.  His cartoons are excellent, his family adorable, and his humor is mostly funny.  But he’s also like an onion.  You peel away the goofy dad layer, and you get to the businessman.  You peel that away, and you get to the soft mushy inside, that might make you cry.  Not because of the smell.  I’m not saying that.  Nope.

.

Solo Dialogue (Karen) is new on the blog block.  She’s a lawyer, with an adorable little boy with autism.  She is always kind, always thoughtful, and is a cheerleader for her bloggy neighbors.  As a lawyer, her writing is always thorough, well thought out, and never includes bad language.  She’s not the neighbor that will get drunk with you, but she will always bring her trash cans in promptly, and the lawn will always be well manicured.

.

Meet Laura, at Life in the House That Asperger BuiltEveryone in her house is on the spectrum.  And they all practice martial arts.  She’s super nice, and will answer any Aspie question you have, but if you play the music too loud and assault their senses, she’s likely to pull out some karate moves on you.  You can get back into her good graces by talking to her at length about algebra.  Yep, she’s a math nerd and will love it.

.

Lizbeth, at Four Sea Stars, doesn’t have a blog button, so I found this photo for her.  I hope she likes it.  She is super mom, with a wicked funny sense of humor.  And she’s not shy about dropping some F-bombs, but not in front of the kids.  Weird things happen to her all the time, like hail from hell and horses dodging trains.  Or maybe she’s that neighbor, that has had everything happen to her??  Either way, she’s good entertainment, but possibly bad luck!

.

Meet your crazy neighbor, Jillsmo, from Yeah. Good TimesSteer clear when she’s on the road, as she’s prone to running over things, like wildlife.  You’ll need extra wine for the neighborhood BBQ, as Jillsmo likes to “tip it.”  She’s a really good mom, but she probably teaches the kids curse words and how to make fart sounds with their armpits.  She’ll grow on you.  Not like a fungus or anything.  Like something else.  I’m not sure what.

.

By no means is this a complete list of the autism blogging “neighborhood.”  I just ran out of steam, and vodka, so it’s time to cut it off.  There are many more equally talented, funny, and strange bloggy friends out there.  Perhaps there will be a “Meet the Neighbors, Part Deux”, if I’m not mysteriously run down by a cackling, curly-headed suburbanite.

Seriously, if you don’t see another post from me…

 
 

 

 

Don't act like you don't see this. I know you're looking right at it. Just click it already.

 

 

 

 

 .

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

26 responses »

  1. Super fun! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I feel the same way. Realizing there was a community of bloggers out there was a huge comfort when we got our diagnosis a few months ago. I’m proud to be part of their group… even if they may not realize I’m there. 😉

    Reply
  3. Bahaha! This is so funny – so this is your impression of me? I’m going to have to work harder to attain Carmela’s status up there with a little Jill and Laura thrown in – cuz that is actually who I am. 😉 And BD? I’m pretty sure we are all part of his “harem” This was a lot of fun! Thanks for including me – I’m in awesome company!

    Reply
  4. This is hilarious…I can’t wait for your next installment! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Great descriptions! LOL

    Reply
  6. I love what you have for a button. I just may pinch it, I like it that much!

    In my defense, that hail storm knocked out the entire neighborhood. And we live in Kansas, so it was bound to happen…I include you in my little group of mom blog friends and imagine you have a clean house, a well coifed mane and a scientific understanding of graphic software as you come up with some wickedly funny (and spot on) graphics.

    Oh yeah, and I know you adore Connor as much as life itself.

    And now I have images of all of us in a tent somewhere in the Sahara in BD’s harem….

    Reply
    • @Lizbeth Sweet, sweet Lizbeth. My house is never all clean at the same time. Never. I have very straight, fine hair, so I can’t do crap with it. I can use the crap out of most computer programs, but know nada about programming languages, HTML, or any other technical thingys. But I’m so glad you think such wonderful things of me! Wait, scratch all that. You are spot on about me. Totally.

      And BTW, Texas is Kansas’ neighbor, so it won’t be hard for me to zip up there and kick your ass for putting that BD in a tent scenario in my head!!

      Reply
  7. Lynn scares me, too. There. I beat Big Daddy to the punch.

    I agree with everything you said about everybody. Good post!

    Reply
  8. I LOVE living here!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply
  9. This is so funny! I love our neighbourhood!

    Reply
  10. Who have you been talking to? How do you know so much about me? Your description is dead on. With some welcome embellishments. (ie. calling my first book the product of a”Book Deal.” Ha! Some deal!)

    @Grace: Btw, Lynn no longer scares me. Repulses me, sure. But no, she doesn’t scare me.

    You, Karen, Lizbeth and Laura make wonderful neighbors. Jillsmo and Lynn – not so much.

    Reply
  11. If you happen to drive by my house, listen for the theme to Sanford and Son. Can’t miss it.

    Big Daddy, the neighborhood association is concerned about your package being left by the front door. Somebody said Lynn picked it up.

    Reply
  12. You are so fucking lucky that you put me first or else I would have fucked you up. Seriously, why are people scared of me??? Comparing me to Carmela is the best compliment I’ve ever gotten…just wish I had the mob bling to go along with it. You’ve so nailed me with the nervous energy and the hair habit…did I post a video of that. If not, you are uncanny.

    This was so goddamned entertaining to read…I just wish this was my real neighborhood. How fun would that be???

    Reply
  13. You are so fucking lucky that you put me first or I would have fucked you up. Seriously, why are people scared of me??? Comparing me to Carmela is the best compliment I’ve ever gotten…just wish I had the mob bling to go along with it. You’ve so nailed me with the nervous energy and the hair habit…did I post a video of that. If not, you are uncanny.

    This was so goddamned entertaining to read…I just wish this was my real neighborhood. How fun would that be???

    Reply
    • @Lynn I would so want to be Carmela! All the benefits, none of the dirty work. I don’t know how I pegged the hair habit, I’m like a swammi or something. Yes, that would be the best neighborhood ever!

      Reply
  14. Awesome post – you chose a great neighborhood. Or it chose you…whatever. You know what I mean! I would have to say, this group of people (to use the term loosely) is maybe the one benefit I’ve found in being blessed with boyos on the spectrum. Autism parent bloggers kick booty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

