RSS Feed

Flat Flannery

Posted on

Today I am protesting.  No, scratch that.  Today I am celebrating!

I’m celebrating the fact that I have absolutely no artistic talent, whatsoever.  But why would I celebrate such a thing?  Let me back up a moment.

Until last June, I had never read a blog in my life.  Then one day, Jillsmo turned me on to Hyperbole and Half, the best freakin’ blog ever.  Funny.  As.  Shit.

The best part?  Snarky, funny humor AND funny cartoon drawings. 

If only,  I thought, I had some artistic talent.  So I started a blog, sans creative, witty cartoons, relying solely on my wordsmithing ability. 

Cartoons would help.

So I decided to give this paint.net a whirl, since that’s what Allie Brosh uses.  Maybe THAT was the key to unlocking my inner artist.

I decided to draw a horse.

HORSE, by Flannery. 2011

Not so good, huh?

I decided to try again.  This time, I did a self-portrait.

Flat Flannery, by Flannery. 2011

Better, right?

So maybe I can get some mileage out of this.  What if every Friday on my blog was “Flat Flannery Friday?”  I could challenge you to print the picture, glue it to some cardboard for durability, and take a photo of Flat Flannery in different places.  Send it to me with a description, and every week I’ll pick the best one to post for the day, with a link to the bloggy site.

My own little take on Flat Stanley.  See what I did there?

It’s not like you need to stow away on the space shuttle, or book a flight to Egypt.  The picture could be anywhere, doing anything, as long as it’s creative.  Flannery could be cleaning your toilet for all I care.

Help make my dream a reality; my dream, that even the artistically challenged can celebrate their “art.” 

Join me, won’t you, in celebrating

Flat Flannery Fridays.

.

Edit: For those of you without a blog to promote (gasp, shriek), I will post your photo and description, and a link to the charity of your choice.

.

 

 

 

Click it. Do it for all the Flat Flannery's out there.

 

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

14 responses »

  1. Comment, take 2.

    I’m so in. And from what I saw earlier, before your post was abducted by aliens and then returned, after being thoroughly probed (I assume), so are a bunch of other cool peeps.

    Oh the places Flat Flannery will go. . . .

    Reply
  2. It looks a little bit like Jillsmo used a straight iron and became Flat Flannery! You so are going to some raunchy places…

    Reply
  3. I thought I commented on this already. DID YOU DELETE MY COMMENT DAMMIT???

    Reply
  4. Oh Flat Flanny going places…I could have sworn I wrote that yesterday!!! I think you were abducted my aliens!!!

    Reply
  5. BY aliens, not MY aliens. Not like I have aliens hiding in my closet or anything….

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Flat Flannery Friday! | Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

  7. This is so awesome!! I’m definitely in!! The race is on!!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Flat Flannery Friday #2 | Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

  9. Pingback: Flat Flannery Friday #3 | Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

  10. Pingback: Flat Flannery Friday #4 | Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

  11. Wait, let me get this straight…I am supposed to do ALL that work and MAYBE mine will be the best and get posted, but MAYBE not? Pshaw, I say. PSHAW.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: karacteristic.com » Blog Archiv » Confessions of an AL (Acronym Loser)

Leave a Reply

