RSS Feed

King for a Day

Posted on

One day last week when I picked up Connor from school, he ran toward me, yelling, “I’m king for a day!!”

I was worried that his kindergarten narcissism had risen to a whole new level, but then he produced a poster board, with a note from the teacher.  Throughout the year, a child is chosen every couple of weeks to be king or queen for a day.

They take their poster board home, and they decorate it with all of their favorite things.  Then, on their designated day, they take it to school and they show it to their class and tell them all about the things and people they love most.

Finally, a project that won’t result in yelling or tears.  Yay!

Connor was eager to work on his poster board, but needed some suggestions to get him started.

“Think about your favorite things, movies, food, toys, things you like to do” I suggested.

“I LOVE pizza!!”

“Okay, that’s a start.”  So he drew a piece of pizza.  Then he wrote his name, in his favorite color, across the poster board.

We looked through the Disney movie booklet, and he cut out pictures of Wall-E and Toy Story to glue on the poster.

“Would you like me to print a picture of our family for your poster?”  Of course he does, he adores his family.  I’m sure he can’t wait to put us on his poster.

“No, no family.  I just want my stuff on it, no family.”

[sigh]

Okay, I get it.  He wants it to just be about him, and all his favorite things, not about his family.  Fine.

[nine months, little boy, nine LONG months]

Anyway, I left him to his own devices, armed with colored paper, scissors, glue, crayons and markers.  I proceeded to clean the kitchen.  After a few minutes, I came over to check on his progress.

.

The King's Masterpiece

.

Wait.  Did you see that?

What is that?  Oh, please don’t tell me…..

.

.

“Um, Connor??”

Well, it turns out he actually had something very ordinary in mind.  So I let him glue it onto the poster board, and I “enhanced” it later.  It was worth the risk of pissing him off, so I could, um, “help” him make his vision a reality.

.

.

See, it was just a giant pen- rocket!!

Whew, good thing I added the fire and those jets, huh?

And so the King told the class about his love for balloons, rockets, ice cream cones, pizza, Wall-E and Toy Story.  He did not, however, discuss his family, his dog, his fish, or the menagerie of toys strewn all over the house.

And everyone in the kingdom lived happily ever after!!

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

5 responses »

  1. This brings back a lot of memories of doing those “student of the week” things in elementary school. All of it except the “rocket” at least. That’s hilarious!

    Reply
  2. We did the same thing but Alex made a DVD that he made the teacher play, showing all his interests…good times.

    I actually thought those were boobs!

    PS–I do live in a vortex! We just had a tornado form OVER THE HOUSE. I think you jinxed me!!!

    Reply
  3. At first, I thought those blue things were the soles of shoes, but then again, I raised a little girl. Of course, then I realized that unless Connor perseverates on footwear, putting shoes on his poster board would make no sense at all.

    Thank you for clarifying. 🙂

    Reply
  4. They just don’t get those 9 + months do they?! He’s got all the little boy stuff on that King’s poster for sure! And mom, you’ve been hanging out with Flat Flannery too much– I thought those were shoes too. But they do make an awesome rocket!

    Reply
  5. I would have thought the same exact thing!

    I want to make a really bad joke here about the fact that his “rocket” is blue. . .but I got nuthin’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

