RSS Feed

And Then There Was a Storm

Posted on

Medication changes are fun for the whole family.

8:30 p.m.  “It’s past your bedtime, get back in bed and go to sleep!”

8:40 p.m.  “I know you love our bed, but you’re not sleeping with us (again), get back in your bed!  No, it doesn’t mean I don’t love you just because I don’t want you in my bed, you sound like a bad date.”

8:42 p.m.  “I’m serious, stay in bed or you will start losing toys and limbs.”

9:00 p.m. [sleep]

12:38 a.m.  “Huh, wha-…NO, you cannot sleep here, go back to bed.”

12:39 a.m.  [loud crying] “Stop crying, you are fine.  I know you miss your family, but it’s not like we’re in another country, we’re just down the hall.  I’ll explain what a country is tomorrow, please stay in bed.”

12:41 a.m.  [howling] “OHMYGOD you have to be QUIET before you wake up the whole house!  NO, you are still NOT getting in my bed!  No, no I DO love you, I just don’t love it when you’re in my bed, kicking me all night.  No, nobody is going to another country, at least not tonight.”

12:42 a.m.  “Okay, I’m sorry I yelled.  Yes I will rub your back if you go to sleep.  Seriously, you must go to sleep.”

12:43 – 12:56 a.m.  [back rubbing, clockwise circles, gradually decreasing pressure, transitioning from entire palm to just fingertips, staring at large world map on bedroom wall]  Hmmmm, Turkmenistan is right there by Iran and Afghanistan, but you never hear about them.  I wonder if the Turkmenistanians have Al Qaeda problems?  I will have to google Turkmenistan tomorrow.

12:57 a.m.  [sleep]

12:59 a.m.  [THUNDER]  “WAAAAAAAAH!!”

.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

6 responses »

  1. Great. You had to go and mention Al Qaeda. Now Homeland Security is gonna put us all on some government watch list.

    Reply
  2. I suddenly feel much better about my limited sleep interruption last night. Granted, because it was so rare, I was certain we’d stepped into Paranormal Activities 2, but that didn’t stop me from falling asleep an hour and a half later . . .

    Reply
  3. Did you google turmenistan, or were you too afraid of really being on the HLS watch list?

    Reply
  4. Why can’t the medication ever do anything cool, like give children the urge to say please and thank you? Or, make them lose the desire to eat boogers?

    Reply
  5. You’re stronger than I am. Let him kick you – you’ll still sleep more and think of Turkmenistan less. (Plus he’s too adorable to resist!)

    PS – forgot to mention that I love the new look! Very cool.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Good Things Come From Freaking Out on Your Mother-In-Law « Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

Leave a Reply

