RSS Feed

Just Like a Fungus, It’s Another Meme

Memes.  They’re kind of like a fungus that slowly spreads from one person, or blog, to another.  Lizbeth, over at Four Sea Stars, has spread her nasty fungus over here, by naming me in this meme, which is called the Blog on Fire Award.  I’m not sure where the outbreak originated, but it is spreading through the blogosphere quickly.

Pass the marshmallows...

But it does say “award”, so I guess I should say thank you for honoring me with this lovely fungi award.  Thank you, Lizbeth.  Thank.  You.  I only hope I can repay this honor someday soon….

Anywho, yadda yadda, seven things about me that you could go your whole life without knowing and not care.  Ready???  GO!!!

1.  The television show that I can watch over and over again, no matter how many times I’ve seen the episodes, is MASH.  I think it’s one of the smartest, well-written shows I’ve ever seen, and I really appreciate how poignant each episode is, interspersed with sardonic humor.

2.  In general, I’m not a people-person.  Which is to say, I don’t generally like most people.  Well, annoying people.  And the stupid ones.   Or the ones that watch Glen Beck.  Or anyone backing Rick Perry (shudder).

3.  I would choose corn tortillas over flour anytime.  It’s just one more thing that alienates me here in Texas, but I can’t help that I’m a lover of the corn products.  I like it mashed into other products, popped, and on the cob.

4.  I hate cats.  I consider them the devil’s minion.  They are ungrateful, snotty, and self-absorbed.  There is room in my house for only one snotty, ungrateful and self-absorbed creature, and I’m not giving up my position for some pissy little pussy.

5.  I do genealogy because sometimes dead people are more interesting than live ones.

6.  Living my whole life in the same town feels like death to me.  I have the wanderlust.  We’ve moved several times, and it makes for a great adventure.

7.  I’m not convinced that Spam is real food.  I have never eaten it because I can’t get past the visual of the meat slithering out of the can, with that gelatin coating.  And the smell, oh god, the smell.

This can't be real food.

So, victims???

My good friend Kara, at Karacteristic!  She is super awesome, so I know she will loooooove me for this.  Right, Kara??

Brian, at Both Sides of the Coin.  Because I know he will have something interesting to say.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

10 responses »

  1. MASH is awesome…we watched it with our parents growing up, and I still watch it now. Good stuff.

    Reply
  2. aaaaaaaaaasaaaaarhgh.

    Reply
  3. Thanks Flan. I accept your fungus with open arms. I’ve never been meme’d before. I hope this doesn’t mean I have to write my list of seven things you could care less about in my Vera Wang gown and Tiffany jewelry.

    Reply
  4. So to sum it up – you’re a corn, dead people loving MASH fan who enjoys moving and hates Republican cats that eat SPAM. Oh yeah, and now you have a fungus. Wow. Now, I understand why I’m such a fan of this blog!

    Reply
  5. MASH is amazing! Corn tortillas are the best. And genealogy can be amazingly entertaining (I have found so many family skeletons it makes me feel so much better about myself and explains so much). Also agree about Spam. Not sure exactly what it is but it scares me just a little.

    Reply
  6. the SMELL!

    *gag*

    I just urped in my mouth a little.

    *runs to the bathroom*

    Reply
  7. Don’t forget that nasty suction/suck sound when it comes out of the can. My kids love it and like Spagettio’s I can’t stand either of them. I used to watch Mash and Cheer’s when I was younger. They were on back to back and it was an hour of bliss.

    Reply
  8. Corn tortillas are the *only* way to go!!

    I’m def not a people person either.

    I do love cats though… The Hubs is allergic to them and sometimes I wonder what I was thinking when I married him… 😛

    Reply
  9. Stupid/annoying people are the very same ones that do watch Glen Beck and will back Perry. They’re grosser than Spam slime.

    Reply
  10. Where are you…..(play crickets here…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

