RSS Feed

Words + Punctuation = Magic

A few months ago, I received an email from Lynn, from Autism Army Mom.  She and Big Daddy Autism were putting together a compilation of blogger essays, and I got the golden invitation.

And of course I say YES right away.  Because that’s what I do, I commit.  I’m a serial committer.

Can you help the PTA?  YES, yes I CAN help the PTA!!

Can you make a costume for the school holiday parade?  YES, I can!

Juggle knives?  Why yes, that’s my special talent.

Darn holey socks?  Darn, if I’m not a darner from a long family of darning fools!

Anywho, so I commit, and then the anxiety attacks start.  For two months, I pondered and I thought and I fretted.  I had no ideas, not the slightest inkling of anything to write.  The deadline crept closer, and passed.  I was forced to email Lynn and tell her I was a miserable failure.

She wasn’t really having it, and basically gave me another week and told me to get my ass in gear.  So I hastily threw something together and sent it over.

And she emailed me back and thanked me for the crap I sent.  And she said no one had written anything like it, which, of course, means it’s a sucktastic piece of crap….sort of like when you tell your child, “that’s the best macaroni art project I have ever seen!”

But she included it in this fine book she has put together.  I am in the company of some very, very fine writers (of which, I am not one, you’ve read this blog before, right?), and am so pleased to be part of this project.

So be sure to head over to Amazon and pick up your copy of Wit and Wisdom From the Parents of Special Needs Kids; Mostly True Stories of Life on the Spectrum.  My macaroni art is in there somewhere too!

.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

5 responses »

  1. That’s awesome! Plus I love having the inside scoop, especially after reading Lynn’s post about it! I can’t wait to get my copy of the book!! **shakes fist at slow shipping times!**

    Reply
  2. Your essay is the most awesomest macaroni art project of all time!

    Reply
  3. I think she accepted mine on the basis of the mostly true part! And yay!!! I’m glad Lynn hounded you like the dog you are and ekkked some magic out of you.

    Reply
  4. probably there should be a button that just says, “Follow all contributors to Wit and Wisdom From the Parents of Special Needs Kids; Mostly True Stories of Life on the Spectrum.” and I’d push it and be done, since essentially I’ve been doing that the hard way for the last two months that I’ve been active in this Blogosphere. Heh. . . blogosphere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

