RSS Feed

He’s Been Really Good Today, But…

*RING-RING*

“Compliance department, this is Flannery.”

“Hello, Mrs. Sullivan?  This is Connor’s teacher, Ms. Smith.”

“Oh, uh, hello Ms. Smith.”  (shit, damn, what did he do?)

“Connor has had a great day today.  Really good listening, and great paying attention.”

“Uh huh, but……?”

“Well, we’ve really been working with him on bathroom manners, but today he was standing on the toilet in the bathroom, and that’s not safe.  So I thought you could talk to him.”

“Sure.  Hello, Connor?  Why were you standing on the toilet?”

“I was making sure the other kid was following the rules.”

“We will talk about this later, don’t do it again.”

“Ms. Sullivan?  Thanks for talking to him.”

“Sure.  It was a good try, sister, but I don’t think it’s going to work.  But there will be consequences for him tonight.”

“Hahahahaha, okay, well thanks again!”

*click, sigh*

"Hey, are you following the rules over there??"

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

11 responses »

  1. HAHAHA!!! OMG I can just see this go down. Well at least you know he’ll wash his hands. Well that’s unless he has an aversion to water or something…

    Reply
  2. That’s always freaky when the school calls!! Love how she starts by telling you that he’s doing so well and then gives you the “news”.

    In his defense though – and based on the drawing you’ve submitted into evidence- the other kid clearly is not following rules if he’s wearing blue pants to pee…

    Reply
  3. Social interaction at it’s finest!

    Reply
  4. Hi there,
    love your blog. love the simplicity, the humor mixed with turmoil. Sounds like my life. I have an undiagnosed 8 year old “challenge” (is what we like to call him). Your blog resonates on so many levels. Thank you for keeping it real (and light at the same time). 🙂

    Reply
  5. Oh my, how I’ve missed you and Connor. Also, he takes bathroom monitor to a higher level. With that kind of fortitude, maybe people will stop peeing and leaving said pee on toilet seats.

    Reply
  6. Hilarious. We need more HALL MONITORS FOR CRAP’S SAKE.

    Damn it Flannery, I subscribed to your blog ages ago, and it never delivered itself to my inbox as promised, and because I’m clearly retarded, every time you comment on my blog I think DAMN IT, I HAVE TO ADJUST MY SUBSCRIPTION AGAIN. Every time. Every freaking time.

    Reply
  7. HAHAAAHAAAAAA – I’m sorry – this is hysterical. And I LOVE the picture!
    Hope that’s the last phone call for a while.

    Reply
  8. How did I not see this post until now?? I swear, I am losing my mind.

    Anyway, I’m cracking up at the idea of Connor The Bathroom Enforcer. Did you ask him what he planned to do if the other kid WASN’T following the rules?? ‘Cause I’m curious about that.

    At least he wasn’t tapping his foot while sitting on the toilet, because THAT would have been cause for real concern.

    Reply
  9. Hahahahahaha! That’s great!

    Reply
  10. Ha!!! That’s hysterical!!! Also, I love the pic!! But… Did they really have to call you at work for that? Wouldn’t that be more like an after school note kind of thing? I think getting a mini heart attack each time the school calls is standard procedure, so you’d think they’d limit those life-reducing calls somewhat… **lol**

    Reply
  11. The picture made me giggle!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

