RSS Feed

It’s 3am, Do You Know Where Your Cuddle Buddy Is?

Posted on

Meet Puppy Dog:

 

He’s been part of our family since 2005, when Connor was a baby.  He spent most of his time on the shelf, because Connor had no interest in stuffed animals, other than to pile them on the floor and stand on them to reach the light switch, for those middle-of-the-night rave parties he was throwing in his room.

He still took things to bed.  He had a “nest” of items.  Some of his favorite things to keep in bed were:

*kitchen whisk

*swim goggles

*American flag

*my hair clips

*die-cast cars

*kitchen timer

*flashlights

*toy trains

*bells

 

Nothing cuddly here...

Absolutely zero interest in blankies or stuffed animals.  Nada.

 

Last year I started using his stuffed animals during nightly story time.  I would make them talk or bark, or listen intently to the story.  I would make them kiss the boy or jump on his head.  They were my accoutrements to enhancing his pretend play.

 

And now, he loves Puppy Dog.

 

See, everything he took to bed before had a personal connection.  I know, how could a whisk have a personal connection, right?

 

I use the whisk to make blueberry muffins, his favorite.

 

And the hair clips, well I wear one almost every day.

 

The swim goggles reminded him of summer camp.

 

Now, we’ve created connections with the animals.  Puppy Dog is his good friend now.

 

But someone else loves Puppy Dog too.

 

You can see the evil emanating from her eyes.

 

So at 3am, when the boy wanders into our room, to crash in his homeless camp, he must keep Puppy Dog safe.

 

Perilously close to the Dingo's reach.

 

When I wake up and start my day, and go into the bathroom to look for a new roll of toilet paper, I’m greeted by this:

 

Well good morning to you too! Hope you slept well in there.

 

Each morning I retrieve Puppy Dog from his POW camp, and return him to his rightful place on Connor’s bed.

 

So that each night can begin like this:

 

The nest of oddities is GONE!!

 

And now I have my whisk back.

.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

13 responses »

  1. Haha, I find toys in odd places as well. I once found some Barbies by the toilet and was like, “What?”

    Reply
  2. I’m constantly finding Lego pieces and the TV remote in the refridgerator, but that’s completely an ADHD thing.

    I think it’s sweet that Connor took your whisk and hairclips to bed! I love a boy who loves his mama.

    Reply
  3. Awww! I guess your dog is going to be stealing your whisk now…

    Reply
  4. Now that you have your whisk back I’ll be wanting some blueberry muffins. Can I just tell you, I love that the puppy dog is his new thing? Too cute. And as a bonus the hair clip won’t poke him at night!!!

    Reply
  5. Who could not love this photo of a sleeping boy and his stuffed puppy? Wait – that would be the other puppy, right? Just as long as the real puppy does not try to make the soft cuddly puppy his beyotch, Connor’s innocence is pure… ya know?

    My kid too – no interest in all the stuffed animals – it looks like he cuddling them but really it’s just a facial sensory thing with the soft material on his cheeks and mouth. He’ll step on them sooner than he’ll cuddle. I’m following in your mega-footsteps and I’ll try to make them his friends.

    Reply
    • Karen, it’s no special technique over here. I’m basically playing with him and teaching him “normal” things. While I do it, I tell stories of when I was a kid, and my favorite stuffed animal. I just plant a lot of visual images. It seems to work for Connor, so worth a try for you.

      Reply
  6. that is incredibly sweet. I used to keep the alphabet blocks in the kids’ room when they shared a room in our old house…… every morning my son would be on the floor and the alphabet blocks would be lined up, in alphabet order on the bed. When I woke up to my daughter screaming it was because my son had bitten her—- yep, the alphabet blocks were out of order– evil twin sister. It was time to get them into separate rooms. 🙂

    Reply
  7. FINALLY I get to this story! What a lovely story it is too. That was so touching somehow also about the symbolic objects. It almost finished PMS karen off. I’m 3/4 of the way there.

    Jack has DAVE. WE MUST NEVER EVER EVER EVER LOSE DAVE.

    here’s some photies of Dave. Just look at the pictures: the story is long and dullsville:

    http://karensomethingorother.blogspot.com/2011/04/dave.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

