RSS Feed

The Autism Mom Playlist

Posted on

Pssst, hey you.  Yeah YOU, over there.  C’mere.  Have you checked out that cool music app, Spotify, yet?  No?

The great thing about Spotify is that you can stream music for free, unless you want to pay a subscription fee to get rid of ads, which really aren’t that troublesome anyway.  You can set up your own playlists and copy over as many songs as you want.  And you can share it between computers, and even share songs to Facebook and the Twitter.  I can’t believe it took me so long to find this thing.

So last week, in the middle of a funk, I found this app.  I got started setting up my playlists and music.  Here’s what I have so far for playlists:

Sappy Shit

(Every Rose Has It’s Thorn, In the Air Tonight)  I know, shut up.

Angst-y

(Tainted Love, Cinderella Man)

Rock-ish

(Train, Lit, Filter)

Mellow

(Coldplay, Adele)

Dancey and/or Headbobbing

(Flo Rida, Pink, Black Eyed Peas)

.

I really like to nail down a description, what can I say?  Still, something was missing.

Last week as I made my way around the blogs, I noticed a lot of you were also a bit down.  I don’t know if it’s summertime blues, or something in the air (hehe, Phil Collins was right), but after reading so many melancholy posts, and writing my own, I decided to make an “Autism Mama” playlist, with songs I find that pick me up.  Here’s what I have so far:

.

Click the picture to large-ify it.

.

When you’re in a mood, you just can beat lyrics like, “I’m like a chainsaw, I’ll skin your ass raw, and if my day keeps going this way I just might, break somethin’ tonight,” am I right??

Anyway, since I’m sure we all have songs that pump us up when we’re down, I thought you could help me fill up this playlist.  What songs do YOU listen to when you’re in a slump, that motivate or empower you?

And don’t you dare suggest Josh Groban.  I KNOW you can do better than that.  I want to hear from you, so leave a comment with your music suggestions.   And if you’re on Spotify, feel free to add me to your “people” list.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

23 responses »

  1. I need to figure Spotify out. But I LOVE Adele! Lately, I’ve been playing on my iPod – (no judgments)

    1. Pink – F**kin Perfect
    2. Katy Perry – Firework
    3. Kelly Clarkson – Stronger
    4. Jay Z – Empire State of Mind & Hard Knock Life
    5. Natasha Beddingfield – Unwritten
    6. Nas – I Can
    7. Fleetwood Mac – Landslide

    Reply
  2. What’s wrong with Every Rose Has Its Thorn? It’s Poison, it’s Bret Michaels and Bret Michaels is STILL a hottie! 😀

    Reply
  3. What an awesome idea! I so want in on this!! My Spotify stopped working though! I can still use it (kind of), but it won’t let me create a profile or anything. I don’t know what category this would fit in, but Will and the People are a really good new band! They have tons of songs on youtube, a lot of them are also available on Spotify. Their song The Game has been obsessively played chez moi… 😉

    Reply
  4. I have a soft spot for Sugarland’s “Little Miss” (give you one guess why). when I’m so annoyed with Little Miss that I can’t see straight, I listen to that one and it reminds me to stop and think of all she’s been through.

    For a song that totally gets me pumped up… gah, I can’t even believe I’m admitting this — eminem’s “Lose Yourself”

    I’m going to go have a look at that spotify app now –sounds like fun!

    Reply
  5. Ok – no s#%* from you young ones. The old lady is gonna share her playlist now – be nice!

    Elton John – The Bitch is Back
    Lenka- Everything at Once
    Complicated – Avril Lavigne
    Queen – Another One Bites the Dust
    and just so you don’t feel alone with Phil, Flan,
    Phil Collins – You Can’t Hurry Love

    Now I’m off to check out Spotify…
    🙂

    Reply
    • I saw Elton John in concert when I was 25, so no judgments here!

      I’m not familiar with Lenka, will have to check out for sure. Thanks for the recommendations!

      Reply
  6. “I Am Woman” – Helen Reddy is one of my all time faves. You guys probably wouldn’t like the rest of the stuff I listen to. Lots of reggae and Josh Groban 😉 .

    Reply
  7. “Break Stuff”?!? ROCK ON!

    This app sounds an awful lot like Napster, are you sure this is legal? You know two days after I download it, the government will shut it down. Or arrest me.

    I’ve been rockin “Highway To Hell” (AC/DC) in more ways than one lately. And certain times of the month I’m partial to “Bleed It Out” by Linkin Park. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

    I’m off to the app market now!!

    Reply
    • No, I think the trick is that after 6 months they limit you to 10 hours a month, unless you do a paid membership. But hell, I’ll enjoy those 6 months like nobody’s business. I may even splurge the $5 a month for the membership, if I like it enough.

      Break Stuff is like, the soundtrack of my life. Ohhh, I also love me some AC/DC, need to add that!

      Reply
  8. Love your list. I’m not that into music. I rarely remember the names of bands and like really uncool stuff. I do really like the Killers though, and ELO and T-Rex (yes, they’re way old, but very upbeat.)

    Reply
  9. Holy crap. I play BREAK STUFF too when I’m really, really in a MOOD.

    Reply
  10. “The Cave” by Mumford and Sons makes me feel all magical and inspired when I’m upset. And if I really, really, really am pissy, then I love Otep’s “Confrontation.”

    Reply
  11. What’s wrong with Josh Groban? He’s one of my favorite singers. The song “You lift me up” reminds me of my mom and makes me cry because since she died of cancer in 1989 I miss her so much. I am 38 and I still miss my mom a lot. I could’ve used her help raising my son who has autism.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

