RSS Feed

Facetime, Bringing Families Together

Posted on

It turns out there’s one week and one day between the end of summer camp and the beginning of school.  That one day being next Monday, because the school district inexplicably decided that Tuesday would be the optimum day to begin classes.

Since I use my vacation time for doctor’s appointments and days off over the holidays, Hubs decided to take this week-and-a-day off from work.  But then he got to thinking that it would be a great time to take a 3-day road trip to Houston, where they could visit the beach and the aquarium.

And I thought, YES, that is a FABULOUS idea!!  Because, of course, the thought of 3 days of pure quiet is like a dream come true, since I haven’t had pure quiet in more than 7 years.  Sure, I would be a little sad to miss it, but it’s great father-son bonding time.

And so on Sunday, off they went on their trip.  And off I went back to bed, where I stayed all day, reading and watching TV in blissful, wonderful QUIET.

Hubs took the iPad with him, so Connor could play games and watch videos during the drive.  And since it has Facetime installed, they could call me on my iPhone at night.  The app is awesome since it gives a visual along with the auditory of speaking to someone.

That evening, I got my phone call from the boys.

Hey Mama, I can SEE you!! We went and rode a roller coaster and a ferris wheel!!

.

Can you see me waving??? I’m waving!!!!

*

Blalalalalala!!!!!!!!! Omb thticking awt mah tonga!!!!!!

.

MAMAAAAAA!!!!! Can you see me NOW?! Look, I’m SIDEWAYS! Do you see me? Do you?

.

And then all of a sudden Hubs was tired and they had to go.  Something about “STOP LICKING THE iPAD!!”  I don’t know.  But I cozied back up in bed and went back to watching the Real Housewives of New Jersey and eating ice cream.

I’m going to owe Hubs big time when he gets back.  Big time.  But all the quiet time I’ve had?  It will be worth every last blow job.

Yeah, I said that.

.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

21 responses »

  1. I love facetime for business trips. Love it.

    Reply
  2. Twenty bucks says Jim licks the ipad. My kids once stuffed it up their shirts and then tried to moon the grandparents. No lie. We have since decided to stick to phone calling the relatives….

    And Jim–totally kidding. 🙂

    Reply
  3. TOTALLY worth the blow jobs. And personally I HATE blow jobs, but three days of peace and quiet? Yep, worth it. Enjoy your time alone!

    Reply
  4. Love the drawings! It should be mandatory that all husbands take the children away on a “bonding trip” at least twice a year! Yeah, I’m a dreamer, I know…

    Reply
  5. I love the look on hubs face in the last picture. Obviously he doesn’t yet realize what awaits him at home. . . .

    Reply
  6. I cannot stop laughing…but only because this is something my children would do. Enjoy your quiet time. I am insanely jealous!!!

    Reply
  7. 3 days of quiet? I am insanely jealous. But not sure I would be wiling to offer up the blow job so easily 🙂

    Reply
  8. OMG – I choked on my coffee MORE THAN ONCE reading that! LOVE the visuals!!!

    xoxo

    Reply
  9. I am SO jealous of your quiet alone time. My husband always says the way to my heart is to leave me alone! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Who has two thumbs and is really envious of your three days of alone time? Me! Great post. It had me laughing out loud, but for real. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Was it just magical? I can’t even imagine such bliss!

    Reply
  12. Ahhh the joys of facetime. I recommend one of those iPad cases that includes a waterproof cover. It really helps with the licking clean-up 😉

    Reply
  13. OMG! Hysterical!! Love the drawings and progressive facial expressions! I have three boys ages 11, 10 & 7 (five if you count the husband & 110 lb Rhodesian Ridgeback!) with our 10 yr old being autistic. My husband makes sure I get alone time…encourages me to go out with the girls, get a pedicure, take a trip, etc. because he knows he will get nothing from me in the way of romance when I’m ready to pull my hair out! Never mind a BJ! He’s very hesitant to put such a delicate part of his anatomy near my teeth! 😉

    Reply
  14. Thank you for writing “Facetime, Bringing Families Together
    Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles”. I actuallymay
    certainly end up being coming back for far more reading through and
    commenting soon enough. Many thanks, Anton

    Reply

Leave a Reply

