RSS Feed

Meet Scott Lentine

One of the byproducts of blogging is that I get to meet some amazing people.  I’m always pleased when a fellow blogger or parent takes the time to comment and let me know they enjoy my ramblings.  But I’m downright humbled when I hear from autistic adults that enjoy what I do, and appreciate the humor.

Recently I received an email from Scott Lentine, a man with (self-described) high-functioning autism (PDD-NOS/Asperger’s).  Scott is a poet/writer himself, and he’s asked me to help him share his work.

It would be my pleasure, Scott.

Please be sure to leave a comment with your feeback and thoughts for Scott.

Just a Normal Day     

Never knowing what to say

Never knowing what to do

Always looking for clues

Just a normal day

Feeling unsure

Totally perplexed with everyday life

Always on edge never certain

I wish I could lift this curtain

Needing to constantly satisfy my need for information

Always online searching for new revelations

Going from site to site

Obtaining new insights every night

Trying to connect with people my age

Attempting to reveal my unique vision

But ending up alone and unengaged

Feeling like my needs a total revision

Just a normal day

.

Can’t You See

Can’t you see

I just want to have a friend

Can’t you see

I need the same connections in the end

Can’t you see

I want a good job

Can’t you see

I need to have stability and dependence and part of the general mob

Can’t you see

I want to be independent on my own

Can’t you see

I want to be able to have my own home

Can’t you see

I want the same things as everyone else

Can’t you see

I want to be appreciated for myself

.

The Ode to the Autistic Man

Try to understand the challenges that I face

I would like to be accepted as a human in all places

Where I will end up in life I don’t know

But I hope to be successful wherever I go

I would like to expand my social skills in life

Making new friends would be very nice

Stand proud for the autistic man

For he will find a new fan

I hope to overcome the odds I face today

Increased acceptance will lead me to a brighter day

By the age of 20, I will have made tremendous strides

I know in the future, life will continue to be an interesting ride

I have made new friends by the year

I will be given tremendous respect by my family and peers

I hope to get noted for bringing the issue of autism to the common man

So that autistic people can be accepted in this great land

Stand proud for the autistic man

For he will find a new fan

I hope to overcome the odds I face today

Increased acceptance will lead me to a brighter day

.

Scott Lentine graduated from Merrimack College, magna cum laude, with a degree in religious studies and minor in biology.  He currently interns for his local area ARC, where he works on getting disability resource legislation passed.  He is interested in non-profit work that improves the lives of people with developmental disabilities.  Scott hopes that by sharing his work, he can gain the attention of someone as important as President Obama, so that he can discuss with him the challenges of health care, employment and social issues for people on the spectrum.  Scott’s poetry has also been featured on Tony Attwood’s site.
About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

17 responses »

  1. Hi. I think Scotts writing is great. As the mom of an autistic son, it gave me some really great insight. Thanks for sharing. Good luck Scott in achieving all that you desire. There’s a lot of people trying to help you get there.

    Reply
    • Thanks Jay! I am also trying to convince Obama and Romney to attend the National Conference on Disability Issues in Columbus on Sept. 28 to get them to support better health care reform, employment agencies, and social services for people on the autism spectrum of all ages, especially for those over 22, who do not support the proper social services once they leave the public educational system. It would also be great to hear from Temple Grandin, Ed Asner, Claire Danes (who played Temple), and Dustin Hoffman (who starred in the arguably the first successful movie about autism, “Rain Man”). Perhaps, my quest for better autism resources can someday be made into a Hollywood movie.

      Reply
  2. I love the emotion and expression in each one of these poems. May Scott one day get the spotlight that he hopes to have in order to bring attention to healthcare, insurance, employment and supportive services for men and women on the spectrum once they’ve reached the age of 22.

    At the very least, I hope Scott sends some of his poems to a publisher…I know many parents, like me, would love to hear in an autistic person’s own words, what life is like.

    Reply
    • Lisa,
      I am hoping to send my poems to a publisher. I was also going to my poems to satirist/comedienne Fran Lebowitz, who is associated with Vintage Anchor Publicity and would love to hear from Doug Flutie and Tom Brady on the song/poems since Flutie has a severely autistic man and Brady has done commercials in the Boston area for Best Buddies. I also hope someday that someone like Joan Baez, Bruce Springsteen, Eddie Vedder, or Peter Yarrow read my song/poems and create a civil rights song about autism and the quest for individuals on the spectrum to get access to social services and rights. There are not too many songs so far about autism. I regularly keep in touch with people such as Stephen Shore, Susan Senator, and Liane Kupferberg Carter on autism issues and try to connect them to public policies in the government. There needs to more media reports of the positive aspects of autism.

      Reply
  3. Scott– these are lovely. When I hear from adults on the Spectrum, it helps me understand how hard it can be to get through the day. It helps me understand my son and for that I have no way to thank you other than by writing this. Thank you.

    Reply
    • Lizbeth- My poems will also be featured on Susan Senator’s blog and Lisa Quinones-Fontanez’s blog in the coming days I believe. It is great to reach to the autism community and musicians with these poems.

      Reply
  4. Scott’s writing is exactly what I see my son facing now at age 6 and what I think of for his future. Thanks Flan for sharing Scott’s talent with us through your site. And Scott, whether you hear from those who have a voice that can be heard by millions or you are here with many of us bloggers on our own, your voice and the issues you raise and face are being heard and understood by a larger audience each day. It is up to each of us to bring them to light.

    Reply
    • Karen- I greatly appreciate Flan for posting my poems on her blog. I hope my poems can continue to several additional on the autism spectrum and their families, friends, and others out there who deeply care for them. There certainly needs to be better health care and employment initiatives for people on the spectrum.

      Reply
  5. Another round of “thank you’s” from us here too. I studied poetry (and even won an award in college) — and I think you have some good stuff here, Scott. Please keep up with the goal to “reveal my unique vision” — you have some amazing insights that I think will help a lot of families out there!

    Reply
    • Karla,
      Thank you for your compliments! I am in the process of reviewing my 4th poem, which I have pretty much completed, but needs to undergo some editing processes. I think poetry and music can be powerful tools for people who cannot otherwise speak themselves.

      Reply
  6. Flan, thank you for introducing me to Scott’s work. It is so meaningful to me to read articles, blogs, and poetry from those with Autism. His words help me understand my girl and what she goes through. Beautiful!

    Reply
    • Kara,
      Thank you for your support of these poems! I am in the process of editing my 4th poem at the moment! At the moment, I cannot think of any pop or rock songs with an autism theme. I do believe people on the spectrum need more support from Washington, Hollywood, and even people on Main Street.

      Reply
  7. Good stuff. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing! I hope that one day, my kiddo is able to put things into words half as well.

    Reply
  8. I Say the same as the comment above I would like my child to be able to express himself as beutifully one day.

    Reply
    • Thorgerdur- Thank your for your generosity! I hope that my poems and future works can be continued to be read by others in the autism community and hopefully well attract some more key supporters.

      Reply
  9. I want to thank everyone for the wonderful comments that they have sent me! My poems have also been praised by the likes of folk music singer Tom Rush, Jesse Colin Young, the lead singer of the 60s group the Youngbloods of “Get Together, Chicago singer Bill Champlin, voiceover actors Bill Ratner and Pat Fraley, a letter support from President Obama on autism advocacy, and Gerard McMahon, who is best known for singing “Cry Little Sister,” from the movie “The Lost Boys.” I hope that my poems continued to get featured on additional autism blogs and I plan to release a 4th poem and additional future works soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

