RSS Feed

My Experiment Living Without Social Media

Last month I sort of lost my mind a little bit.  First it was the beginning of IEP hell, of which there is still not a resolution.  And then Halloween came sneaking up, and that, of course, heralds the beginning of THE HOLIDAY SEASON.  So I decided that for my own sanity, I would take a self-imposed break for social media and blogging, so I could focus on the IEP stuff, and try to get my house in order (literally and figuratively).

As an exception to the no blogging rule, I started a running commentary of the 30-day social media blackout, so I would have something to post when I came back.  Or as I like to refer to it, My Descent into Madness.

Let this serve as a warning to all that consider leaving the vortex of social media.

Day 1 – Maybe I’ll just take a peek at Facebook, but not comment.  I won’t even “like” any of the updates, so it’s not cheating.  And it wasn’t cheating when I peeked for the fifth time either.  (Hey, it’s really hard to just quit cold turkey!)

Day 2 – I’d sent a note home with a friend from Connor’s after-school program, with my number, yesterday.  The boys want a playdate.  The other boy’s mom called and invited us to a Fall Festival at a local school.  The boys had a great time, and I got to hang out with a mom that “gets it.”  Her son also has ADHD, and she is totally non-judgey.  Bonus:  they had booths with people selling their wares, and I finally got a Scentsy wax burner.  Candles are very risky in our house, with the boy.

Day 3 – My bad for not anticipating that Connor would touch the wax burner with his tongue.  Don’t know how I didn’t see that coming.  Another thing I didn’t see coming?  Him calling 911 while I was in the other room changing.  The police officers at my door were very nice, even when he responded to their question about why he called by saying, “I just wanted to let you know that you guys are doing a GREAT job.”

Day 4 – 3 1/2 hour IEP.  More to follow on that.

Day 6 – It was hard not to post Halloween pictures to Facebook.  But I didn’t!  But I can post it now, right here:

Be afraid, be very afraid.

Day 10 – Never in a million years did I imagine that buying a toothbrush that plays the song “I Gotta Feeling” would cause my child to proclaim, “You’re the best mom EVER!”  But much to my surprise, a toothbrush of this nature does exist, and that is exactly what he said to me.  Over a toothbrush.  Huh, all those expensive toys and outings to Mouse Hell didn’t garner that much enthusiasm.

Day 12 – During dinner, Connor suddenly asked if he could start riding his bike and scooter out front, independently, because “I’m seven-years-old now, and I remember the rules and won’t cross the street or leave the front of our house.”  To say I was stunned is an understatement.  I complimented his thoughtfulness and maturity, and told him that daddy and I would discuss it and let him know our decision.  Fuck, now what?

Day 14 – IEP #3, 2 hours long.  No resolution.  Hell is coming.

Day 15 – Had to break down and put a rant on Facebook.  Feel better now.  Back to my hiatus.

Day 18 – I wonder if anyone misses me on Facebook.  They’ve probably forgotten me already.  Bitches.  They can all suck it.  No, I take it back.  I miss my people.

Day 20 – I don’t miss blogging.  It might be time for a change.

Day 22 – Fuck it, I’m buying the pies this year, not baking them.  They’ll be just as good, but it will save me time.  #cuttingcornersforThanksgiving

Day 23 – For the first time this school year, a positive social map came home from school.  This is the Connor that people don’t always get to see – a fighter, a defender.  I sat down and cried and told him how proud of him I was.

Day 25 – I’m alone.  So. Very. Alone.  It’s like I don’t even exist anymore.  *sniff*

Day 25 (5 minutes later) – What if I just take a peek at what’s happening on Facebook?

Day 25 (8 minutes later) – Maybe I’ll just leave a little comment…

Day 25 (14 minutes later) – I failed the 30-day challenge.  I’m back with my people!  And I don’t even care if I failed, damn it, because I need people!  Not people in general, mind you, but my special Facebook people.

Let this be a lesson to anyone that contemplates eliminating social media from your life – you will miss your people.  It’s like Cheers, where everyone knows your name.  *clink*

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

11 responses »

  1. 🙂 I knew you couldn’t live without us.

    Also? LOVE the social behavior map!

    Reply
  2. You were missed!! You’re never allowed to leave again. I simply won’t allow it.

    Reply
  3. I missed you horribly. *SOB* now i’ll go back to ignoring you.

    Reply
  4. I wondered what happened. I just started following your blog and then you weren’t there and I was all sad and stuff. So glad you’re back! *hugs* Sorry you’re having IEP troubles. I’m wavering between homeschooling and running away myself. If my kids’s teacher weren’t pretty fantastic, I’d already have done one or the other.

    Reply
  5. Oh thank God you’re back!!! On the positive…you got a great blog post out of it. Tee hee.

    Reply
  6. Hmm – did he ^^ love that you were missing, your post or you failing at the 30 days?!

    Anyhow, I’m on my own sort of social media hiatus… I simply cannot keep up with everyone everywhere so I chose the blogs since they give me more info for less overall time devotion. Twitter – too fast; FB – too much/ too often!

    I hate that you are in IEP hell – but don’t feel alone. I’m right there with you. You think they would feel bad about their positions but no… Front line fighting leaves you tired, eh? Me too. Someday, I hope we both post a happy ending…

    Reply
  7. Social behaviour map …I need that.

    Reply
  8. “Another thing I didn’t see coming? Him calling 911 while I was in the other room changing. The police officers at my door were very nice, even when he responded to their question about why he called by saying, “I just wanted to let you know that you guys are doing a GREAT job.” BEST.THING.EVER.

    Reply
  9. Love the social map! Sorry to hear about the IEP hell. Just went through our reevaluation process. Finished that *insert expletive of choice here* now to begin the actual IEP itself after Thanksgiving break yay! 🙂 So glad you are back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

