RSS Feed

Whistler’s Mother

Posted on

Whistling comes naturally to some people.  Not me, though.  I didn’t learn to whistle until I was 15.  I’m still horrible at it, and can barely emit a sound lasting more than a second. My husband isn’t very good at it either.  Yet, for some reason, Connor has decided he wants to learn to whistle.

Connor:  “Whirsh.  Was that a whistle?”

Me:  “No.”

Connor:  “Whiiiirsh.  What about now? Was that a whistle?”

Me:  “No.”

Connor:  “Whirsh.  Was that one? Was that a whistle?”

Me:  “No.”

plugears

Me:  “You know, whistling takes a lot of time and practice to learn.  Maybe you should take a break and practice learning something else.”

Connor:  “Okay.  Thwish…thwish.  Was that a snap?”

Me:  “No.”

Connor:  “Thwish.  How about that, was that one a snap?”

Me:  “No.”

Connor:  “Thwish-thwish-thwish.  Was that a snap?”

Me:  “No.  Oh hey, look, it’s bath time!”

Later than evening we snuggled on the couch while Connor read from his daily reader.

READING

Connor:  “Some cats are *whirsh* small cats and *whirsh* are known as *whirsh* domesticated house *whirsh* cats.”

Me:

fine

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

6 responses »

  1. LMAO!!! Oh. I mean…I feel your pain. 😀

    Reply
  2. Bwahaha!! Oh how I relate to this one! Whistling was never one I caught onto either. I can totally see how this would drive you a little closer to the edge. 😉 Mine is imitating various siren noises- American, British, fire, police, ambulance. Wanna trade?

    Reply
  3. Now I know we are related. I suck at whistling too!

    Reply
  4. I feel your pain… no really… mine CAN whistle and DOES whistle ALL THE TIME. I really wish I knew who taught her how to whistle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

