RSS Feed

July Things

Posted on

Hey, remember when I used to blog?

Yeah, me neither.

But I’m not complaining. This summer is sailing by fairly smoothly. I’ll take that any day over years past, when we scrambled to find backup summer camp options. I still have PTSD from the summer after kindergarten.

So, catching up. We barbecued hamburgers and hot dogs on the 4th of July. That’s pretty much it.

Oh. And I threw my back out…picking up a shampoo bottle in the shower. How’s that for a visual? Yep, so I’m getting a lot of sitting done. And reading. I’m on book 3 of Game of Thrones, and I’ve started watching the series. This only reinforces my deep mistrust of other people, since I’m convinced that everyone has their own devious agenda. I should maybe find some lighthearted reading, no?

Also, it’s really hard to go to the bathroom when your back is out, but let’s not talk about that.

So during my sitting, Connor decided to cool me off with this little, handheld fan. Even though I told him I was cool enough, thankyouverymuch. But then ADHD got the better part of him, and he decided to see what would happen if he turned the fan on in my hair.

The chunk of knotted-up hair I pulled out is actually bigger than it looks.

20130711-075844.jpg

On the upside, he felt really bad about it. He commenced combing my hair, and telling me that I look like a princess. That was nice, even though I was pretty sure I only looked like a partially bald troll.

So anyway, that’s my summer so far. How is yours going?

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

4 responses »

  1. Ouch. Sorry about the back AND the hair. Hope you are up and around again soon!

    Reply
  2. Is it wrong that I laughed at this? It is, isn’t it? *composes self and attempts to look appropriately contrite*

    Reply
  3. Sounds like you’re having a bang-up summer there…eek! Hope that the back heals quickly and your hair grows back soon!

    P.S. I am reading GOT, as well. I agree…trust no one!

    Reply
  4. And here I thought my kid was the only one who managed to scalp another with a handheld fan … Good times, good times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

