RSS Feed

So Anyway, School and Stuff

Posted on

Remember when I used to write funny things? I did, really. You can look here and here to see.

Between lots of different challenges at school, and all the other things I balance, there just hasn’t been much time left for writing posts. Sorry about that. I hope to be back to our regularly scheduled program soon. And since I don’t have time to go into all the tiresome details, I thought I would draw you a picture to summarize things.

20131028-210255.jpg

That’s the gist of it. Most of our kids just don’t fit inside the public school “box”. Try as we might, they are always going to be different and unique. No amount of cramming, folding, or accommodating is going to make them squeeze their beautiful complexity into that boring, ordinary, and thoroughly routine box.

There are some pretty amazing people out there that didn’t fit in that box either.

Now besides all the shenanigans going on at school, I’ve also committed to do something that will consume every shred of free time I have left (translation: time that I should be using to do laundry or clean the house). This year’s NaNoWriMo starts Friday!

If you don’t know about NaNoWriMo, it is an international project where people commit to writing a novel during the month of November. It’s completely free, and they have an awesome website set up so you can register and get ideas and support. Most local areas also have groups that get together at various locations to work with others. If you’ve ever thought about writing a book, you should check it out. There is nothing to lose by doing it, that’s the genius of it. You can look back in 30 days and say, “I actually wrote a novel!.” Or, you can look back in 30 days, or 30 years, and say “I always wanted to write a book.”

If I have time I will pop in and drop a post here, otherwise, I hope to be back in December with a little sumpin-sumpin.

Stay well, friends.

nanowrimo

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

6 responses »

  1. You GO GIRL!!! Let me know when I can pre-order your book!!! (Y) (Y) <= That's a double-thumbs up btw. 😀

    Reply
  2. Damn I was thinking of doing this as well, not in english though, are you working also, do you think you have the time? I think it is a great challenge. Sorry …babbling abit.

    Reply
    • I AM working and technically don’t really have the time. But I’ll never have the time because I’ll be working until I’m dead. May as well go for it. You should do it, in any language!

      Reply
  3. Thanks for the info about the book challenge. Now I have no excuses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

