RSS Feed

I Just Want to Thank You

Posted on

Thank you for taking the time to read the words I write, even though they are oftentimes rambling and tangential.

Thank you for wading through the endless abyss of the internet, and choosing to stop in my little disorderly corner of the ‘sphere.

Thanks for expressing genuine concern, happiness, and joy at the adventures of my most precious creation, Connor. To have virtual strangers that rejoice in his success and feel genuine sadness at his challenges…that is just beyond amazing to me.

Thank you for knowing when I’ve had too much, and offering words of kindness, compassion, and encouragement. It is often more than I get from friends in real life.

Thank you for laughing with me. When my tank is empty, laughter is the fuel that keeps me going.

Thank you for knowing that my words are sometimes inadequate in truly describing my thoughts and feelings.

Thank you for realizing that, like you, I too am only human. Imperfect. Unfinished.

Thank you for not pointing out that I use too many commas.

And ellipses…

Thank you for realizing that just because we live with autism, it doesn’t mean I’m an expert about autism. Who is, really?

Thank you for understanding that I can only write about my own family’s journey, and my own thoughts, and that I couldn’t possibly speak for everyone. To try and do so would be absurd.

Thank you for sharing your stories with me and letting me know that I’m not alone on this journey.

Thank you for knowing that if I don’t sometimes use humor and sarcasm to cope, then I just might break down into a million pieces.  Ain’t nobody got time fo dat.

Thank you, friend, for your recent post in which you make a bold declaration about where you stand. Don’t think I didn’t notice, and don’t think I don’t appreciate it. I know you must have struggled with whether you should publish it or not. It was courageous of you.

Thank you for understanding that I just can’t get around to comment on your posts every day, even though I would like to. It doesn’t mean I’m not reading them, or thinking about you.

Thank you for being a friend; traveled down the road and back again; your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidant.

This moment of gratitude brought to you by Flannery, because we don’t take enough time to be thankful.

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

13 responses »

  1. There is nothing… wrong… with… ellipses…

    Thank you for being bright and brave and funny and honest.

    Reply
  2. My pleasure. And thank you.

    Reply
  3. Thank you; what a good post to start a new week with: gratitude. I appreciate your friendship and your thoughtfulness and your willingness to step up and take risks and open yourself to differences of opinions.

    Reply
  4. Thank you for just being…you. For sharing your passion and determination, your humor, your stories which make us laugh/cry/cringe — sometimes all in one post! Just…thanks.

    Reply
  5. what is this gratitude nonsense of which you speak?

    Reply
  6. 🙂 thank you for the funnies! without laughing, everyday would suck!

    Reply
  7. And thank you for sharing your journey. I look forward to every single post you write.

    Reply
  8. *Sniffs* Thank YOU, my friend. And, shut up, Jim. 😉

    Reply
  9. Happy to have found your blog! It is a joy to read. :).

    Reply
  10. I heart you lady, but I think you already know that.
    xxoo

    Reply
  11. Do I know you?

    (… I like ellipses…)

    Reply

Leave a comment