RSS Feed

Dear Reader

Dear Reader

Dear Reader,

 

Or should I say, friend? If not friend then surely fellow human, at the bare minimum. Just know that you are more than just a reader of words. You are a fellow soul who found, perhaps, at least some enjoyment from the stories I’ve shared with you.

 

My sincere goal was to share moments from our lives as they intersect with autism and ADHD, and maybe, just MAYBE someone else might find a laugh, or information that would be helpful in their lives. I wanted to show autism in a different light; one that finds laughter and joy in the chaos, one that is not doom and despair, but simply new challenges to overcome with some laugher along the way.

 

It never came to mind to discuss our race, religion, or cultural backgrounds. It was never pertinent to the story. But I tell you now, Dear Reader, that my family is biracial. The particulars  don’t matter, of course, just that we are. The stories you’ve read about Connor, they are about a boy with two races.

 

And so I ask a favor of you now, Dear Reader. If anything I wrote made you laugh, or cry, or look at someone or something in a new light, please allow me this one favor of you. Regardless of how you chose to vote in this election, please reach out and call your state representatives about the President-elect’s appointment of Steve Bannon as his chief of strategy. Please call on your senator or representative to condemn the appointment of a known white nationalist and bigot. Please do this for children like mine, who deserve to have public leaders that respect and celebrate the wonderful diversity of America; diversity that also includes disabilities.

 

The following link is a site with a call script, for those who aren’t sure exactly what to say when calling their government officials. You can also just speak from your heart, as long as your voice is heard.

 

And THIS is the link to a site where you can look up your state’s elected officials.

 

Thank you again, Dear Reader, for spending some of your time here. I think you know me enough by know to know I wouldn’t ask this of you if I didn’t feel it was frighteningly important. So please, share this with others who might also lend a voice.

 

Those who do not share my opinions, I wish you the best on your journey. There is no ill will here, none given, and none taken.

 

All my gratitude,

 

Flannery Sullivan

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

Comments are closed.