RSS Feed

The Loss of a Child

Posted on

When the message went around last week that today was the day to post in support of Mikaela Lynch‘s family, and others who have lost children to elopement, I quickly responded that I would participate. Then I spent several days turning the subject over in my mind, unable to come up with a coherent idea of what to write.

The truth is, I don’t want to think about this.

I don’t want to think about the fact that 49% of autistic children engage in elopement behavior.*

I don’t want to think about a third of those children being unable to communicate any information about themselves.*

I don’t want to think about parents having to lay their child to rest.

And I don’t want to think about the guilt and pain that those parents will feel, even though it wasn’t their fault.

And the fact that some very irresponsible people wrote horrible things about the family, suggesting they somehow did something wrong?  I don’t want to think about that, either.  BUT, you can click on the following image to send a message to the employer of a writer who was particularly hurtful to the family during the nightmare they endured.  It will not give any traffic to the writer whatsoever, but will allow you to email the employer and let them know that her actions were reprehensible.

Ethical journalists treat sources, subjects and colleagues as human beings deserving of respect. Journalists should: * Recognize that private people have a greater right to control information about themselves than public officials and others who seek power, influence or attention. * Show good taste. * Avoid pandering to lurid curiosity. * Use special sensitivity when dealing with children. * Show compassion for those who may be affected adversely by news coverage. — (http://www.spj.org/ethicscode.asp)

If you are the parent of an autistic child, or are a friend or relative of one, please use and share these resources:

BRSTLogo

.

AWAARELogo400

My deepest sympathy and most heartfelt condolences are with Mikaela’s family, as well as others who have lost their child.  It’s simply an unimaginable horror.

May they find peace.

* http://www.awaare.org/

About Flannery

Kid, husband, dogs, my mother, full-time job, maximum stress, minimal relaxation...sooner or later I had to vent. AND we moved from California to Texas. I could start a whole other blog about that.

4 responses »

  1. I don’t want to think of this either, it’s my worst fear with Alex. My heart goes out to these families.

    Reply
  2. There is an awful lot of judging going around when things like this happen. The most ignorant.. “What was the child running away from??!” or “Where were the parents??!” How about shut up unless you know more about autism than what you saw on Rainman? It is our greatest nightmare and I also don’t want to think about this.

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful way to get across the point about the unethical coverage by so-called journalists and a clever way to report said journalist without giving her article any undue and unwarranted popularity. Very well said.

    Reply
  4. This is beyond sad….

    Reply

Leave a comment